Bat Out of Hell The Musical Reviews - Dominion Theatre

Post Review
Featured Video
Venue Information
Dominion Theatre

Dominion Theatre
268-269 Tottenham Court Road
London
London
W1T 7AQ

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
The theatre can be seen from the station, on the corner of the crossroads between Tottenham Court Road and Oxford Street.

Show Information
Booking From: Friday, 21st December 2018
Booking Until: Saturday, 5th January 2019
Age Restriction: Due to strong language, partial nudity and scenes of a sexual nature, the show is not recommended for children under the age of 12. Parental guidance should be used for children aged between 12 and 16. For further information, please contact the Box Office. Children under the age of 5 unfortunately cannot be admitted.
Important Info: The show contains strobe lighting, haze and flame effects. The sound levels are very high throughout the show and there are scenes that include gunshots sound effects.                                                                                                                                                                       
Show Status: production_closed
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.4 out of 5 stars based on 99 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "This show is absolutely amazing, I was recommended it by a work colleague and we travelled from ..."

Reviews Sort by
    Sunday, 11th Jun 2017 by Jim

I caught one of the last performances in Manchester. I was expecting to like it since I am into musicals and also into Jim Steinman songs, but I was in no way prepared for what I saw...

I've been to many productions in Broadway and West End and this was by far the most spectacular and enjoyable. The use of the two level set and screens was ingenious and allowed multiple things were happening at the same time. I thought that it made the Les Mis West End production feel rather "tame" in comparison. The cast, although unknown (at least to me) was great. The songs... well, you know the songs ;) And there were a couple of moments that were beyond awesome. The first was when the female protagonist pushes a car down a "cliff" (big hole in the stage) and... well, I won't spoil it. The second was during the "I would do anything for love" song, again with multiple things happening. I have never seen such a long and enthusiastic standing ovation before. Everybody seemed to be giving praise as we exited, the most common things I would hear were "wow, how awesome was that???" or "I can't believe the small parts were so good!" etc. I'll probably try to catch it again in London...

    Saturday, 10th Jun 2017 by Nick Brett

Hmmm.

Vocals are good, sets and FX work well too, but very much let down by poorly thought out and delivered plot. It's better than "We will rock you" because that had a storyline that could have been written by a 10 year old.

In fairness the audience seemed to love it (although about 70% full for a Thursday night) but I am not sure it has enough depth for a long run...

    Saturday, 10th Jun 2017 by Clive Michel

I went to see this show on Friday 9th June at the London Coliseum with my wife and daughter fantastic from start to finish great songs with excellent performances from all the cast.Stand out songs being paradise by the dashboard light,bat out of hell which was better than Meatloafs original version and i'll do anything which was a great closing number.The only downside was that the set was difficult to see at times if you were sitting at the side.Would see again.

    Thursday, 8th Jun 2017 by Linda

Saw the matinee on 8th June at the London Coliseum. My husband went reluctantly as he doesn't like musicals. The plAce was rammed. The applause was deafening, this was without doubt the best show we have ever seen. The whole audience was on their feet at the end. Pure joy.

    Wednesday, 7th Jun 2017 by merod

We went to The second showing it was absolutely fantastic from start to finish. A definite must see for any meatloaf fan and an insight to anyone wondering what Bat out of hell is about. Great show.

    Tuesday, 6th Jun 2017 by Rob parkin

Went to first night at the Collisum London, best show Iv ever see just fantastic from start to finish, will have to go again

    Wednesday, 26th Apr 2017 by Stan

Fantastic music, fantastic performances by all cast, great set, just a fantastic show. At Manchester opera house Tuesday 25th April

    Wednesday, 8th Mar 2017 by Dan L

Wow, I've been waiting 20 years or more for this.

Loved every minute.

Every song was a joy to listen to, and closely matched or sometimes exceeded the originals in quality.

Great cast and some excellent audio/visual ideas.

A few funny moments, and some not so funny Jim Steinman "jokes".

The song What Part of my Body Hurts the Most was amazing - I've only heard Jim's old demo version, which was "nice".

The only issue is the silly dancing - which is the Jim Steinman way if you look at many of the early videos. It just looks wrong and takes your eye of the main singers.

Standing ovation from the whole theatre at the end and well deserved.

Meat never delivered that amazing voice after Bat 1 for me (except the odd song such as dead Ringer and Objects in the Rear view mirror) so I never went to see him in concert.

This made up for that.

I'm sure I'll go again.

    Saturday, 4th Mar 2017 by Dave

Just saw this in Manchester, and I have to say that I'm less impressed than I thought I'd be. The singing, choreography, jokes and costumes were all great, but Bat Out of Hell's biggest letdown is the set and storyline.

Without spoiling anything, whilst a very nicely constructed set, the way that it's laid out makes the experience difficult and awkward for those that are sat to one side.

For the storyline, think We Will Rock You with far less cohesion. A dystopian future about a controlling and manipulative government, which is overthrown by Bohemian youths.

The issue here is that the story is never set up properly (it's not explained how things got like this, or why the controlling force is the controlling force, you're given 2 sentences at the start, and it's left for you to draw your own conclusions.

Overall, Bat Out of Hell is a fun time, with all the Meatloaf songs you're probably hoping far. The cast sings, acts, and dances brilliantly, but the set design and storyline let it down.

See it if you're a big Meatloaf fan, don't see it if you're going for the show.

    Saturday, 25th Feb 2017 by Ian Loveday

bat out of hell the musical had you on the edge of your seat from the very beginning to the closing curtain, the entire cast did Jim steinman proud, the whole cast made every song there own, the songs fit perfectly , i cant wait to go see it again, if there is anything you do this year it must be to see Bat Out Of Hell The Musical

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 1 + 6)  


This site uses cookies. For more information please see our cookies policy. By continuing to use this site you agree to the use of cookies. Got It!