Bat Out of Hell The Musical Reviews - Dominion Theatre

Check Availability
Date:
When:
Quantity:
Post Review
Venue Information
Dominion Theatre

Dominion Theatre
268-269 Tottenham Court Road
London
London
W1T 7AQ

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
The theatre can be seen from the station, on the corner of the crossroads between Tottenham Court Road and Oxford Street.

Show Information
Booking From: Monday, 2nd April 2018
Booking Until: Saturday, 28th July 2018
Age Restriction: Suitable for age 12+ due to mild swearing and scenes of partial nudity.  Children under the age of 5 will not be admitted.       
Important Info: The show contains strobe lighting, haze and flame effects. The sound levels are very high throughout the show and there are scenes that include gunshots sound effects.                                                                                                                                                                       
Show Schedule
Mon: 7.30pm
Tue: 7.30pm
Wed: 2.30pm and 7.30pm
Thu: 7.30pm
Fri: 7.30pm
Sat: 2.30pm and 7.30pm
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.6 out of 5 stars based on 71 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "absolutely amazing show, seen 2nd time & still blown away with energetic performances , songs , s..."

Reviews Sort by
    Thursday, 15th Jun 2017 by Stoney

Fantastic show - loved it - staging extraordinary - vocals and energy great

    Thursday, 15th Jun 2017 by Als

Utter rubbish! I was really looking forward to seeing this as it is one of my favourite albums but when it descended into watching people "making out" on the back of a car i was crying with laughter - but not in a good way.

So bad we left at the interval - couldn't take any more

    Thursday, 15th Jun 2017 by Feasty

Wow what an evening. Fantastic show, loved it from the explosive start and didn't want it to end. The cast were superb and the set amazing. Thank you for a truly great experience.

    Wednesday, 14th Jun 2017 by Dave

Saw this on a Monday 12th June and was slightly disappointed that the normal male lead was not appearing.

But as soon as the Alternate appeared on stage any doubts I had dissapted quickly.

The story line is quite simple, boy meets girl, girl meets boy, they fall in love. Her dad doesnt like it and some turmoil ensues.

The sub plot revolves around the relationship of the father and mothers relationship.

So not a complex story line, but this show is about the music of Jim Steinman.

Did it make the hairs on the back of my neck .... yep it had its moments and with hits such as paradise by the dashboard light cleverly done, along with I'd do anything for love, bat out of hell as well as dead ringer for love certainly certainly hit the highs.

If your not a fan of Meat loaf, there's no point .... if you are then there will always be that trade off between Meat Loaf and a West End Show....

I for one thought the show was superb and will return ...

Congratulations to the cast and thankyou for a really enjoyable evening.

    Wednesday, 14th Jun 2017 by Sue

This is what the future of musical theatre is all about! For the fans of Meatloaf there's most of the songs you would expect to have in there, delivered amazingly by the cast and for those (like my husband) who aren't true believers the sheer spectacle and effects carried the night. It was a full house on a Tuesday, generated a standing ovation from the entire theatre, and the most positive comments I've ever heard from a departing audience as we made our way out.

If I could get tickets for another performance I would!

    Tuesday, 13th Jun 2017 by Andrew

The lead performers (male & female) are stronger singers, but the story is woolly and the musical feels constrained by some of the songs. When the show goes full rock, its a nice show, but the slow/soft songs in between lack energy. In the end abit disappointed as the cast themselves put full effort into the show.

    Sunday, 11th Jun 2017 by Bev

Simply cannot believe how brilliant this was. Absolutely loved it from start to end. The singing and acting is outstanding. We left on such a high. Loved it so much that we've booked to go again on the final night.

    Sunday, 11th Jun 2017 by amanda

Have seen this production at both Manchester and London. Absolutely superb, though I have to say that thought the Manchester performance was better! They have changed the dance routines for London, leaving out one of the best bits! Costume changes too - shame, rather liked the blue suits the boys wore in Manchester!! Aside from that, loved the show and have 2 more sets of tickets booked. Note - balcony seats not great, you are craning to see a lot of what happens at the front and peoples heads are cut off when they do the bedroom bits.

    Sunday, 11th Jun 2017 by Dave

An incredible theatre, fantastic music but simply appalling show. I guess two out of three ain't bad but when I go to a show in the best theatre I have ever been in in the greatest city in the world I do not want ain't bad. I so wanted the hairs on the back of my neck to be standing up and a soppy grin on my face just like when I was thirteen years old and I first heard meat powering out one of the best albums ever written. I left feeling like a small part of my young life had been hijacked. At times the show was an absolute mess with.people running around the stage just causing a distraction. It looked like an amateur dramatics production beingayed out in a village theatre. You could tell the whole audience wanted to sing and dance and join in from the first note with the atmosphere in the theatre being electric. After twenty minutes of basically talking I am afraid I and a large part of the audience had been lost. From the first second I wanted to be captured and blown away. Instead I found myself looking around feeling annoyed and let down. The vocals were good but again I wanted incredible. The best two vocal pieces were heaven can wait and later on dead ringer. Can someone please tell me why so many vocals in shows these days descend into what sounds like a whiney New York accent. So disappointing. The evening was summed up for me by a woman five rows in front of me who sat there waving her arms about loyally to every song. I so wanted to be that woman as I suspect did the whole audience but I had been lost long long before.

    Sunday, 11th Jun 2017 by Jim

I caught one of the last performances in Manchester. I was expecting to like it since I am into musicals and also into Jim Steinman songs, but I was in no way prepared for what I saw...

I've been to many productions in Broadway and West End and this was by far the most spectacular and enjoyable. The use of the two level set and screens was ingenious and allowed multiple things were happening at the same time. I thought that it made the Les Mis West End production feel rather "tame" in comparison. The cast, although unknown (at least to me) was great. The songs... well, you know the songs ;) And there were a couple of moments that were beyond awesome. The first was when the female protagonist pushes a car down a "cliff" (big hole in the stage) and... well, I won't spoil it. The second was during the "I would do anything for love" song, again with multiple things happening. I have never seen such a long and enthusiastic standing ovation before. Everybody seemed to be giving praise as we exited, the most common things I would hear were "wow, how awesome was that???" or "I can't believe the small parts were so good!" etc. I'll probably try to catch it again in London...

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 4 + 1)