Bat Out of Hell The Musical Reviews - Dominion Theatre

Check Availability
Date:
When:
Quantity:
Post Review
Featured Video
Venue Information
Dominion Theatre

Dominion Theatre
268-269 Tottenham Court Road
London
London
W1T 7AQ

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
The theatre can be seen from the station, on the corner of the crossroads between Tottenham Court Road and Oxford Street.

Show Information
Booking From: Tuesday, 17th July 2018
Booking Until: Saturday, 27th October 2018
Age Restriction: Suitable for age 12+ due to mild swearing and scenes of partial nudity.  Children under the age of 5 will not be admitted.       
Important Info: The show contains strobe lighting, haze and flame effects. The sound levels are very high throughout the show and there are scenes that include gunshots sound effects.                                                                                                                                                                       
Show Schedule
Mon: 7.30pm
Tue: 7.30pm
Wed: 2.30pm and 7.30pm
Thu: 7.30pm
Fri: 7.30pm
Sat: 2.30pm and 7.30pm
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars based on 87 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "Amazing show. Cast were all superb, and one of the best stage designs I have ever seen. Oh, and J..."

Reviews Sort by
    Wednesday, 14th Jun 2017 by Sue

This is what the future of musical theatre is all about! For the fans of Meatloaf there's most of the songs you would expect to have in there, delivered amazingly by the cast and for those (like my husband) who aren't true believers the sheer spectacle and effects carried the night. It was a full house on a Tuesday, generated a standing ovation from the entire theatre, and the most positive comments I've ever heard from a departing audience as we made our way out.

If I could get tickets for another performance I would!

    Tuesday, 13th Jun 2017 by Andrew

The lead performers (male & female) are stronger singers, but the story is woolly and the musical feels constrained by some of the songs. When the show goes full rock, its a nice show, but the slow/soft songs in between lack energy. In the end abit disappointed as the cast themselves put full effort into the show.

    Sunday, 11th Jun 2017 by Bev

Simply cannot believe how brilliant this was. Absolutely loved it from start to end. The singing and acting is outstanding. We left on such a high. Loved it so much that we've booked to go again on the final night.

    Sunday, 11th Jun 2017 by amanda

Have seen this production at both Manchester and London. Absolutely superb, though I have to say that thought the Manchester performance was better! They have changed the dance routines for London, leaving out one of the best bits! Costume changes too - shame, rather liked the blue suits the boys wore in Manchester!! Aside from that, loved the show and have 2 more sets of tickets booked. Note - balcony seats not great, you are craning to see a lot of what happens at the front and peoples heads are cut off when they do the bedroom bits.

    Sunday, 11th Jun 2017 by Dave

An incredible theatre, fantastic music but simply appalling show. I guess two out of three ain't bad but when I go to a show in the best theatre I have ever been in in the greatest city in the world I do not want ain't bad. I so wanted the hairs on the back of my neck to be standing up and a soppy grin on my face just like when I was thirteen years old and I first heard meat powering out one of the best albums ever written. I left feeling like a small part of my young life had been hijacked. At times the show was an absolute mess with.people running around the stage just causing a distraction. It looked like an amateur dramatics production beingayed out in a village theatre. You could tell the whole audience wanted to sing and dance and join in from the first note with the atmosphere in the theatre being electric. After twenty minutes of basically talking I am afraid I and a large part of the audience had been lost. From the first second I wanted to be captured and blown away. Instead I found myself looking around feeling annoyed and let down. The vocals were good but again I wanted incredible. The best two vocal pieces were heaven can wait and later on dead ringer. Can someone please tell me why so many vocals in shows these days descend into what sounds like a whiney New York accent. So disappointing. The evening was summed up for me by a woman five rows in front of me who sat there waving her arms about loyally to every song. I so wanted to be that woman as I suspect did the whole audience but I had been lost long long before.

    Sunday, 11th Jun 2017 by Jim

I caught one of the last performances in Manchester. I was expecting to like it since I am into musicals and also into Jim Steinman songs, but I was in no way prepared for what I saw...

I've been to many productions in Broadway and West End and this was by far the most spectacular and enjoyable. The use of the two level set and screens was ingenious and allowed multiple things were happening at the same time. I thought that it made the Les Mis West End production feel rather "tame" in comparison. The cast, although unknown (at least to me) was great. The songs... well, you know the songs ;) And there were a couple of moments that were beyond awesome. The first was when the female protagonist pushes a car down a "cliff" (big hole in the stage) and... well, I won't spoil it. The second was during the "I would do anything for love" song, again with multiple things happening. I have never seen such a long and enthusiastic standing ovation before. Everybody seemed to be giving praise as we exited, the most common things I would hear were "wow, how awesome was that???" or "I can't believe the small parts were so good!" etc. I'll probably try to catch it again in London...

    Saturday, 10th Jun 2017 by Nick Brett

Hmmm.

Vocals are good, sets and FX work well too, but very much let down by poorly thought out and delivered plot. It's better than "We will rock you" because that had a storyline that could have been written by a 10 year old.

In fairness the audience seemed to love it (although about 70% full for a Thursday night) but I am not sure it has enough depth for a long run...

    Saturday, 10th Jun 2017 by Clive Michel

I went to see this show on Friday 9th June at the London Coliseum with my wife and daughter fantastic from start to finish great songs with excellent performances from all the cast.Stand out songs being paradise by the dashboard light,bat out of hell which was better than Meatloafs original version and i'll do anything which was a great closing number.The only downside was that the set was difficult to see at times if you were sitting at the side.Would see again.

    Thursday, 8th Jun 2017 by Linda

Saw the matinee on 8th June at the London Coliseum. My husband went reluctantly as he doesn't like musicals. The plAce was rammed. The applause was deafening, this was without doubt the best show we have ever seen. The whole audience was on their feet at the end. Pure joy.

    Wednesday, 7th Jun 2017 by merod

We went to The second showing it was absolutely fantastic from start to finish. A definite must see for any meatloaf fan and an insight to anyone wondering what Bat out of hell is about. Great show.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 5 + 4)  


This site uses cookies. For more information please see our cookies policy. By continuing to use this site you agree to the use of cookies. Got It!