Beautiful - The Carole King Musical Reviews - Aldwych Theatre

Post Review
Featured Video
Venue Information
Aldwych Theatre

Aldwych Theatre
49 Aldwych
London
London
WC2B 4DF

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(10mins) Head out onto the main road Strand. Cross street where possible and go right. When you reach the fork, veer left onto Aldwych.

Show Information
Booking From: Friday, 4th August 2017
Booking Until: Saturday, 5th August 2017
Running Time: 2 hours 25 minutes
Important Info: We recommend patrons arrive at least 15mins in advance of the show start time.  Security checks will be carried  out upon arrival at the theatre, please be aware that your bags will need to be checked before being seated.
Show Status: production_closed
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.8 out of 5 stars based on 25 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "Went to see the show at Nottingham. Understudies played the parts of Carol and Cynthia superbly, ..."

Reviews Sort by
    Thursday, 10th Mar 2016 by Maria marley

Saw the show today great story told really well the music was fantastic all the singers had great voices best show I've seen for a long time

    Wednesday, 11th Nov 2015 by Charles Pope

What a show!. It is brilliant. Wonderful singing, acting and well organised scene changes.

If you don't come away from the theatre in an ecstatic mood, I don't know what to say.

    Sunday, 1st Nov 2015 by Pauline& darren

Loved every minute

    Saturday, 30th May 2015 by Linda E

An excellent production

    Saturday, 28th Mar 2015 by Jacqui hazell

Fantastic, had the album Tapestry, my daughters loved it even one of them wasn't even born then.

Bravo

    Wednesday, 25th Mar 2015 by Gillian Shaw

This is up there with the.best musical I have seen along with Jersey Boys, Les Miserables. Absolutely fantastic. Will definitely be going agai !

    Tuesday, 17th Mar 2015 by Jan K

Fantastic show - even if you're young and don't know the 'era' it's still a great, true story, good casting/acting, brilliant music. truly uplifting.

    Sunday, 22nd Feb 2015 by Steve and Suzanne

Went to the evening show on 20th February with my wife. We both thoroughly enjoyed the show despite being 'up in the gods' at the back of the circle (which may be a problem for people with vertigo!) The storyline was focused, unfussy and to the point and the acting top quality with special kudos to the leading lady. A measured mix of drama, music and dance with a smattering of comedy for good measure. Held my interest from start to finish and exceeded my expectations. I don't really think it matters if people are not familiar with Carole King or her work because I am sure anyone attending would be surprised at the scale of her song writing credits (with Gerry Goffin) for other artists well known hit records from 'way back when'. I have been to a number of musicals based on artists/bands careers and would say that this comes out very favourably so would recommend wholeheartedly.

    Thursday, 19th Feb 2015 by SAMc

What an evening to hear so many of the songs CK wrote. Joanna Woodward was outstanding as CK and brought tears to my eyes during 'You've got a friend' and 'A Natural Woman'. What emotion!. Our party ranged from 20s to 60s and all left the show wanting to see it again. The pace was good throughout and the orchestrations were excellent. 'Up there with the best' was voiced by all our group of twenty. Highly recommended.

    Monday, 16th Feb 2015 by Bob Poole

Nothing less than top marks for this superb portrayal of a great singer & song writers from the 60's & 70's.. my record collection is full of songs written by these fabulous artists.. You will be surprised...

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 7 + 2)