Carousel Reviews - London Coliseum

Post Review
Venue Information
London Coliseum

London Coliseum
St Martin's Lane
London
London
WC2N 4ES

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(3mins) Take Cranbourn Street until St Martin’s Lane, where you head right until you reach the theatre.

Show Information
Booking From: Thursday, 11th May 2017
Booking Until: Saturday, 13th May 2017
Age Restriction: No under 5's.
Important Info: PLEASE NOTE: Katherine Jenkins will not be performing on 18 April 2017
Show Status: production_closed
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.4 out of 5 stars based on 7 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "Glorious, thank you! Even though Katherine had a chest infection, there was no evidence. Beautif..."

Reviews Sort by
    Tuesday, 9th May 2017 by Gidge

Glorious, thank you! Even though Katherine had a chest infection, there was no evidence. Beautiful performances from everyone.

    Friday, 5th May 2017 by IMW

Not the best Carousel I've ever seen (May 2nd) but very enjoyable. Katherine Jenkins is excellent, but Alfie Boe lacks the physical presence for Billy Bigelow, and his singing lacks colour and dramatic variation. Listen to some of the great American performers, some with half the voice, to understand just how much character and feeling is missing. The real stars for me were the chorus. A wonderful Clam Bake, and Blow High, Blow Low, so often a rather weak spot in the evening, was almost the highlight.

    Tuesday, 2nd May 2017 by Brian Rockell

Top class music...but we knew that. Good singers.....yes indeed, all of them. Choreography...not self explanatory enough,couldn't understand it and the dancing was unable to stand alone, it was quite undemanding.

Lavish ...it isn't and as for those sears in the balcony, I could have done with the story ending at the suicide.

    Wednesday, 19th Apr 2017 by Wendy Edwards

We went on the 18th not knowing K Jenkins was not performing quite honestly we did not miss her her replacement was excellent and the cast seemed very together loved you Alfie B and the bandmaster.

Did think in a five week performance it was rather off of K Jenkins to have night off

    Sunday, 9th Apr 2017 by John Olliff-Cooper

April 7th. What a wonderful production. Katherine Jenkins absolutely nails it playing Julie, with a perfectly measured vocal performance, and surprisingly good acting. Alfie Boe was good too, although his vocal performance could do with a little more subtlety and variation - operatic loud isn't always appropriate. (Check Gordon Macrea on You Tube, Alfie.) The ENO crew were brilliant, as you'd expect. I'd go again just for Jenkins, who was a revelation. Her If I Loved You, left me with embarrassingly wet cheeks. 5/5 without doubt.

    Sunday, 9th Apr 2017 by Judith Coote

Alfie Boe was fantastic what a musical theatre artist he is . Cast were great and brought back memories of the original soundtrack from many years ago.

Katherine Jenkins was good but Alfie Boe stole the show and why Katherine Jenkins had to come out last at the end as the star of the show I don't know as Boe was most definitely the star.

If you love musicals then this is for you

    Sunday, 9th Apr 2017 by Lesley m

I highly recommend this show, I could easily point out out how fabulous Katherine Jenkins and Alife Boe are but the whole cast deserve praise, a sheer joy, although a few tears were shed!

Mustn't forget to mention the ENO orchestra who were fabulous.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 8 + 3)