Chess Reviews - London Coliseum

Check Availability
Date:
When:
Quantity:
Post Review
Venue Information
London Coliseum

London Coliseum
St Martin's Lane
London
London
WC2N 4ES

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(3mins) Take Cranbourn Street until St Martin’s Lane, where you head right until you reach the theatre.

Show Information
Booking From: Wednesday, 23rd May 2018
Booking Until: Saturday, 2nd June 2018
Age Restriction: No under 5s
Important Info: The appearance of any given artist is not guaranteed and no refunds or exchanges will be available should changes be made from the advertised cast No food or drink purchased off-site including alcohol, soft drinks and water are permitted inside the theatre.
Show Schedule
Mon: 7.30pm
Tue: 7.30pm
Wed: 2.30pm and 7.30pm
Thu: 7.30pm
Fri: 7.30pm
Sat: 2.30pm and 7.30pm
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars based on 6 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "I was completely spellbound by the performance I saw last week.I had seen the original pro..."

Reviews Sort by
    Monday, 14th May 2018 by Daniel

I was completely spellbound by the performance I saw last week.

I had seen the original production 4 times in the 80s and LOVED it though could not understand why there has been no London revival since then.

It is a brilliant and well constructed musical with some gorgeous music and brilliantly clever lyrics.

I thought that everone’s singing was superb and even better than the original cast. The production worked well and was rapturously received by the audience.

    Monday, 7th May 2018 by Joanne Harvey-Strike

Oh dear. I didn't like it. Not one bit. The orchestra was so loud it was impossible to understand what was being sung, I saw Chess in 1986...it was brilliant, my husband struggled to follow the story because he couldn't hear the words. We bought the tickets when Murray Head was advertised as being in it? He wasn't. Alexandra Burke was ok. Everyone was ok. Not great, just ok. But nobody was their actual role. They were only singing for themselves - not as their character/ Michael Ball had 2 women he was in love with Really? More than he was in love with himself? My favourite was the gay Tyrolean chap who welcomed the chess tournament to Merano.

In short it was loud, it was confused and it was a show off/shoddy remake of something that was once so brilliant.

    Thursday, 3rd May 2018 by Steve

Lucky to have seen the original production. This production is superb. So much effort from everyone. Micheal Balls signing of Anthem is amazing as are the girls in I know him so well. Trumper is great!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Much mention the theater staff who made my visit as a disabled person effortless. Congratulations.

    Tuesday, 1st May 2018 by sarah g

Utterly brilliant!

it was clear they'd put a lot into the sets, particularly like the filming onto side screens so had a great view from the dress circle.

the dancers were good, orchestra magnificent and all the lead singers were passionate about their performance. wasn't too keen on Michael Ball before I went but he was great.

loved it..would go again tomorrow!

    Monday, 30th Apr 2018 by Ron Price

A Much Awaited Fabulous Production

An absolutely fantastic production - booked this nearly 6 months ago as a surprise for my wife’s birthday. We had listened together (during our courting days) to the original double LP when it came out in the mid eighties, but never got to see the stage production back then.

Thirty odd years later we finally got to see this revival and we were not disappointed. It would be wrong to single out just the stars for praise alone as it is much greater than simply the some of its parts. The powerful orchestra, exacting choreography, clever lighting and amazing sound added in every dimension. Everyone involved gave it their all and this came across in a very much awe inspiring delivery.

If it’s short run cannot be extended we live in hope that it will become a tour (all be it with a smaller orchestra) such that we can get to see it at least a second time.

    Friday, 27th Apr 2018 by lily

The set doesn't look much when the curtain goes up but it lights up, shows video and transforms the stage at every angle. The production is excellent even if the singing is so heavy that you can't make out the words. This is a shame as the music tells the story. Overall a great evening's performance and the audience were on their feet at the end. Probably best to read a synopsis of the story before you go, if its new to you otherwise it could be a bit confusing.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 7 + 8)  


This site uses cookies. For more information please see our cookies policy. By continuing to use this site you agree to the use of cookies. Got It!