Girl From the North Country Reviews - Gielgud Theatre

Post Review
Venue Information
Gielgud Theatre

Gielgud Theatre
35-37 Shaftesbury Avenue
London
W1D 6AR

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(3mins) Take Shaftesbury Avenue along the side where the famous illuminated signs are. The theatre will be on your left about 100 metres along.

Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.2 out of 5 stars based on 13 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "After all the good reviews I'd read about it came away disappointed, the music and singing were e..."

Reviews Sort by
    Sunday, 11th Feb 2018 by Eric Ensor

After all the good reviews I'd read about it came away disappointed, the music and singing were excellent but didn't rate the plot and couldn't empathize with the characters

    Wednesday, 10th Jan 2018 by David

The plot seems to be created around the wonderful interpretation of Dylan songs - sometimes seeming to be awkwardly devised for a lame plot to lead into the songs. Great musicians but overall let down by a weak storyline.

    Wednesday, 20th Sep 2017 by Theresa

This is one NOT to miss. Outstanding performances from the whole cast with some exceptionally strong voices. Sooooo emotional, powerful with a great story.

    Thursday, 7th Sep 2017 by June Sidwell

A wonderful production - loved everything about it. (I did occasionally miss dialogue). The whole cast was excellent but `Elizabeth' was outstanding.

Dylan would approve I am sure.

Definitely will see again if I am fortunate enough to have the opportunity - hope it tours.

    Tuesday, 5th Sep 2017 by Kevin & Elaine Dooley

Can't say much other than it was fabulous.I struggled to hold myself together at the end. Pulled on your heart strings and the music mixed with acting was tremendous.Well worth the visit from Glasgow.Congratulations Conor and the full cast.

    Monday, 21st Aug 2017 by Deborah H

What a truly exceptional performance, loved every minute, i am not a great fan of dylans singing but this lyrics are wonderful,the actors were marvelous and every one deserved great credit for a wonderful performance, need to see again,loved it.

    Friday, 11th Aug 2017 by Kier

The singing was really beautiful - not a weak link across the cast (and I would award this a 6!) -- and I have been known to leave other musicals at 1/2 time!. I would hope Bob Dylan would be proud if he has heard these interpretations (and the wonderful band). The plot was not as strong (probably a 3) - but didn't feel contrived/made up to support the songs -which I was pleased about. Overall its a HIT.

    Wednesday, 26th Jul 2017 by Pipitypong

Great acting.

Magnificent Singing.

    Tuesday, 25th Jul 2017 by Alan J

First half good, very good band and interesting singing, characters introduced and arouses curiosity. But in second half sentimental unlikely development of all the stock characters except perhaps one. Music continues to be good. The epilogue should be cut, it spoils a dark ending.

    Tuesday, 25th Jul 2017 by angelaM

Unique, original and haunting. Go and see this. The singing is fantastic and I hope the cast brings out a soundtrack very soon.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 3 + 1)  

Show Information
Booking From: Tuesday, 10th December 2019
Booking Until: Saturday, 1st February 2020
Running Time: 2 hours 30 minutes
Show Schedule
Mon: 2.30pm and 7.30pm
Tue: 7.30pm
Wed: 7.30pm
Thu: 2.30pm and 7.30pm
Fri: 2.30pm and 7.30pm
Sat: 2.30pm and 7.30pm
Sun: 2.30pm and 7.30pm

This site uses cookies. For more information please see our cookies policy. By continuing to use this site you agree to the use of cookies.Got It!