West End Musicals

Les Miserables Reviews - Sondheim Theatre

Post Review
Featured Video
Venue Information
Sondheim Theatre

Sondheim Theatre
51 Shaftesbury Avenue
London
W1D 6BA

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(3mins) Take Shaftesbury Avenue along where the famous illuminated signs are. The theatre will be on your left about 100 metres along, just after the Gielgud Theatre.

Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.8 out of 5 stars based on 184 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "Saw Tuesday, March 12th. Javert, Jean Valjean, Eponine, the young boy, and the orchestra were par..."

Reviews Sort by
    Friday, 7th Oct 2011 by Dave

Sad to post such a low score for such a wonderful show.  The whole performance was spoiled by an acoustic system that made the singing seem like painful shouting.  I thought maybe it was just me being over-sensitive to the volume but everyone in my party had the same feeling.

    Saturday, 24th Sep 2011 by Linda Harlem

I would like to thank the cast for a truly memorable visit to the theatre.  I know you are professionals but how you sustain the emotion and physical demands of the show every day is beyond me.  My visit was full of goose bumps and tears.  I even cried at the end of a number of solo sections which were not in the "sad" bits.  My Jean Valjean this afternoon (24 September) was amazing - and extremely handsome.

Once again a very big thank you from both me and my daughter - I will be back for a return visit in the new year.

 

    Monday, 19th Sep 2011 by sandra butcher

Saw Les Mis on Saturday 17th Sept.  My fourth time and it was as great as ever.  Alfie Boe magnificant as well as all the cast.  Wonderful.  Could not stop clapping.  Could have sat through it all again. Can't wait to book again.

    Sunday, 18th Sep 2011 by maria higgs

Wonderful Alfie Boe, wonderful show, wonderful cast best show I've seen don't miss it.

    Wednesday, 14th Sep 2011 by lynn seal

Went to see it last night (13th Sept 2011), the best show I have seen. Alfie Boe was unbelievably good, I can't believe how fantastic it was, if you haven't seen it then you should because you will miss something so special .Fantastic. 

    Thursday, 8th Sep 2011 by Welsh George

Had never seen it and went last Sat; just amazing! Matt Lucas was made for his part, Caroline Sheen was brilliant as Fantine and Alfie Boe was just incredible! The story captivated me and the show was perfect, so much so that I have already booked to go again in Oct and Nov. I really cannot recommend this enough, if you haven't seen it then go as soon as you can, if you have but not this production then the same applies! 5 out of 5, nothing has matched it so far and not sure it will! Thanks to all the cast for a truly memorable day!

    Wednesday, 7th Sep 2011 by Karen

Went 6th Sept with my Mum, we have both seen Les Mis over 8 times now.  The whole cast were Absolutely brilliant, Alfie Boe fantastic, Matt Lucas makes his own mark & extremely funny. Iponeme fab voice. We did go just to see Alfie & Matt this time as we had seen them at the 25th Anniversary at the O2, will be going again, hopefully Matt will do another stint!

    Tuesday, 6th Sep 2011 by simon metcalf

Have seen this show over eight times now, the performance on 2nd Sept eve was by far the best. the cast were brilliant, the best Javert i've seen ever, that unfortunately means better than the London recordings this performer was the real deal.

    Tuesday, 6th Sep 2011 by Nigel Simmons

I first saw this in London in April and I thought it was fantastic then, saw it again on 3rd September the show was just even more better each time i see, the cast,the sets and the atmosphere in the theatre is so heart warming I will be seeing it again and it certainly is a must see show, bravo to all the cast.

    Friday, 2nd Sep 2011 by MAXINE PEARSON

I have seen Les Mis four times now! 3 times in London and once in Manchester, the Manchester version was very disappointing. I came to see you again on the 31st August Matinee  and it wiped out the bad memory of the Manchester show . I thought the cast were superb , so professional , and how wonderful to see people stepping into well trod shoes with as much ability as their usual occupant . This show is what professional is all about . There is nothing to beat it.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 7 + 9)  

Show Information
Booking From: Wednesday, 18th December 2019
Booking Until: Saturday, 4th April 2020
Running Time: 2 hours 50 minutes
Age Restriction: Recommended for children aged 8 or over; children under 5 will not be admitted. All persons aged under 16 must be accompanied and sat next to the accompanying adult. They may not sit on their own within the auditorium. If children do have separate seats, entry could be refused. All patrons, regardless of age, must present a valid ticket to gain entry to the theatre. Please ensure that any children or infants for whom you are responsible also have a valid ticket. Your child should be able to sit unaided within the purchased seat. We do not allow children to be seated on an adult’s lap or babes in arms.
Important Info: Seats on the side of the Upper Circle are classed as side view restricted. Seats from Row R back in the Stalls and Row H back in the Dress Circle may be restricted view due to the overhang and may not have a view of the top of the stage.
Show Schedule
Mon: 7.30pm
Tue: 7.30pm
Wed: 2.30pm and 7.30pm
Thu: 7.30pm
Fri: 7.30pm
Sat: 2.30pm and 7.30pm

This site uses cookies. For more information please see our cookies policy. By continuing to use this site you agree to the use of cookies.Got It!