Les Miserables Reviews - Sondheim Theatre

Post Review
Featured Video
Venue Information
Sondheim Theatre

Sondheim Theatre
51 Shaftesbury Avenue
London
W1D 6BA

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(3mins) Take Shaftesbury Avenue along where the famous illuminated signs are. The theatre will be on your left about 100 metres along, just after the Gielgud Theatre.

Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.8 out of 5 stars based on 187 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "Having seen the original show over 30 years ago - and being blown away with it I can honestly say th..."

Reviews Sort by
    Tuesday, 6th Sep 2011 by Nigel Simmons

I first saw this in London in April and I thought it was fantastic then, saw it again on 3rd September the show was just even more better each time i see, the cast,the sets and the atmosphere in the theatre is so heart warming I will be seeing it again and it certainly is a must see show, bravo to all the cast.

    Friday, 2nd Sep 2011 by MAXINE PEARSON

I have seen Les Mis four times now! 3 times in London and once in Manchester, the Manchester version was very disappointing. I came to see you again on the 31st August Matinee  and it wiped out the bad memory of the Manchester show . I thought the cast were superb , so professional , and how wonderful to see people stepping into well trod shoes with as much ability as their usual occupant . This show is what professional is all about . There is nothing to beat it.

    Saturday, 27th Aug 2011 by Nerissa Nicholas

Came to see the show on 23rd August. I have seen this show more than 30 times and loved it every time but seeing Alfie Boe as Jean Valjean was one of those times when you know without a doubt that you have just witnessed something truly outstanding and special. I could have listened to Bring him home again and again - just beautiful. I am now busily trying to see if I can get tickets to see the sho again before Alfie finishes! I have to say Matt Lucas was hilarious and the best Thenardier I have seen and I also thought the young man playing Marius was great too. A truly fabulous show and long may it continue!

    Thursday, 18th Aug 2011 by Jan & Brad

Came on 20th July for son's birthday - Alfie Boe indisposed!! - nevertheless show was superb - as we expected. Trying to book again asap and hope to see Alfie.  Grateful thnks to all cast and support team.

    Wednesday, 17th Aug 2011 by aileen bristow

Fantastic show. Alfie absolutely brilliant. Cried for most of 2nd half it was so moving. So many talented artists it was a privilege to be there!!! Didn't want it to end.

Was there 16th August

    Tuesday, 16th Aug 2011 by Lyn Anderson

The show is absolutely fantastic, have seen it 4 times and coming back on Thursday 18th Aug and I can't wait.  Alfie is fantastic and Matt is brill too.

    Monday, 15th Aug 2011 by The Fullers

Saw the show Saturday having seen it many times before, think this was one of the best not only Alfie Boe and Matt Lucas but the whole cast were brilliant.  Wish we had tickets for the evening performance as well!! 

    Sunday, 14th Aug 2011 by Dee

Saw this show for the first time yesterday.  What a real treat.  Must admit it was Alfie Boe & Matt Lucas appearing that prompted me to book.  However, the whole cast were great and I couldn't get over the stage sets.  Absolutely brilliant.  It was further enhanced by an extremely enthusiastic audience, many of whom I am sure have seen the show before.  Certainly highly recommended.

    Thursday, 11th Aug 2011 by Pauline

Brilliant show!  Appreciated the hard work obviously put in by all the members of the cast to make it a very memorable evening.  Thought Javert fantastic. Great performances from Matt Lucas and Alfie Boe. Lighting, scenery and costumes superb, very atmospheric.  (Tuesday 9th August 2011)

    Sunday, 7th Aug 2011 by karen

Haven't managed to match it yet. music & acting amazing.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Score:

Your Review

Show Information
Booking From: Saturday, 1st August 2020
Booking Until: Saturday, 6th March 2021
Running Time: 2 hours 50 minutes
Age Restriction: Recommended for children aged 8 or over; children under 5 will not be admitted. All persons aged under 16 must be accompanied and sat next to the accompanying adult. They may not sit on their own within the auditorium. If children do have separate seats, entry could be refused. All patrons, regardless of age, must present a valid ticket to gain entry to the theatre. Please ensure that any children or infants for whom you are responsible also have a valid ticket. Your child should be able to sit unaided within the purchased seat. We do not allow children to be seated on an adult’s lap or babes in arms.
Important Info: Seats on the side of the Grand Circle are classed as side view restricted. Seats from Row R back in the Stalls and Row H back in the Dress Circle may be restricted view due to the overhang and may not have a view of the top of the stage.
Show Schedule
Mon: 7.30pm
Tue: 7.30pm
Wed: 2.30pm and 7.30pm
Thu: 7.30pm
Fri: 7.30pm
Sat: 2.30pm and 7.30pm