Matthew Bourne's Cinderella Reviews - Sadler's Wells

Post Review
Venue Information
Sadler's Wells

Sadler's Wells
Rosebery Avenue
London
Islington, London
EC1R 4TN

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(5mins) Take Upper St towards the City Road crossroads. Continue straight and turn right into Rosebery Avenue, where the theatre is 100m down on the right.

Show Information
Booking From: Saturday, 20th January 2018
Booking Until: Saturday, 20th January 2018
Running Time: 2 hours 30 minutes (One interval)
Age Restriction: All ages admitted but some scenes may not be suitable for very young children.
Important Info: Special effects: smoke/haze. Possible strobe lighting (only in blasts here and there, not rapid fire). All ages admitted but some scenes may not be suitable for very young children.
Show Status: production_closed
Review Summary
Average Rating: 3.1 out of 5 stars based on 14 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "Plenty to enjoy in this production but 2 things really spoiled it. First the antics of the pervy ..."

Reviews Sort by
    Thursday, 17th May 2018 by Kate

Plenty to enjoy in this production but 2 things really spoiled it. First the antics of the pervy step brother were really crude and off putting, and the sound track was recorded and was so loud it hurt the ears. Such a shame as the sets were brilliant and superb dancing and story telling.Would not recommend. I have seen 2 other Matthew Bourne productions which were definitely 5 star.

    Sunday, 1st Apr 2018 by Susan

This version of Cinderella was flat, no magic or charm. It was based in a different era but why bother using this tale in a wartime period which in itself is a sad time if not to incorporate some good feelings and once again something of a feel good factor to take home with you.

    Monday, 12th Mar 2018 by Julie Highton-Spencer

This was our first time watching a Mathew Bourne production and we are unlikely to try another! extremely boring especially with the loud mechanical music throughout!.shame as i had heard good reports of his other productions.

    Thursday, 11th Jan 2018 by Ian Barras-Hill

We so enjoyed Cinderella last night - a quite stupendous production with stunning sets and dazzling dance routines. The lighting, sensurround sound and imaginative choreography was breathtaking. I can't believe some of the negative reviews posted here. We sat in the first Circle where the music wasn't too loud. The story was easy to follow and the Pathe newsreels of the London Blitz added a whole new cinematic dimension to this imaginative ballet full of quirky humour and colourful period set locations. And the guardian angel's dancing was sublime...a magical evening. Thank you Matthew Bourne, the cast and all involved.

    Monday, 25th Dec 2017 by Anne Haffenden

I left feeling nothing, which is unusual. Disappointed in all honesty. Too loud. Some parts didn’t really make sense.

    Monday, 18th Dec 2017 by Angie

As others have said the music was far too loud. I sat with my fingers in my ears through the 2nd and 3rd Acts as I was getting a headache. As someone who lived through London through the Blitz I found much of the 'war' backdrop quite traumatising and perhaps a little too realistic as the memories it engendered were disturbing. (I also found the audiences' laughter during the Pathe News beginning rather pathetic and quite banal.) Sorry Matthew, having been so entranced by your previous work this was not only a shock but a great disappointment.

    Saturday, 16th Dec 2017 by Gri

Very disappointing. Sailers Wells management clearly don't read this website. The music was so loud our party of 6 all used tissues to plug our ears. And still it was piercing on occasion. As for the dance it was overlong and hence the flurries of jerky group dances palled. I loved 3 previous Bourne ballets at Saddlers Wells but this was a dud

    Wednesday, 13th Dec 2017 by Rupert Cheham

I'm a huge fan of anything by Matthew Bourne but this was not a pleasant experience. The music was painfully loud at times - I really don't expect to be sitting through a ballet with my fingers in my ears! Add to that the crashes and bangs of the wartime setting, along with flashing lights (when the set wasn't bathed in gloom), and a caste almost entirely dressed in dark grey, and it was, well, 'challenging' rather than enjoyable. Go to his Swan Lake and be dazzled; see his Nutcracker and laugh all through; be charmed by his Sleeping Beauty, but leave this one well alone.

    Tuesday, 12th Dec 2017 by Margaret

Fabulous sets ,superb dancing but overly loud music that jarred.

Convoluted plot and one dance scene was too long but I am very pleased to have seen this spectacular production as was my son who thoroughly enjoyed it

    Monday, 11th Dec 2017 by s powell

I was disappointed, I think the fact it was set in war time London

did not do it for me, all too grey. Awful music too.

We left after the second interval and noticed others did too.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 6 + 8)  


This site uses cookies. For more information please see our cookies policy. By continuing to use this site you agree to the use of cookies. Got It!