Matthew Bourne's Cinderella Reviews - Sadler's Wells

Check Availability
Date:
When:
Quantity:
Post Review
Venue Information
Sadler's Wells

Sadler's Wells
Rosebery Avenue
London
Islington, London
EC1R 4TN

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(5mins) Take Upper St towards the City Road crossroads. Continue straight and turn right into Rosebery Avenue, where the theatre is 100m down on the right.

Show Information
Booking From: Wednesday, 3rd January 2018
Booking Until: Saturday, 27th January 2018
Running Time: 2 hours 30 minutes (One interval)
Age Restriction: All ages admitted but some scenes may not be suitable for very young children.
Important Info: Special effects: smoke/haze. Possible strobe lighting (only in blasts here and there, not rapid fire). All ages admitted but some scenes may not be suitable for very young children.
Show Schedule
Tue: 7.30pm
Wed: 7.30pm
Thu: 2.30pm and 7.30pm
Fri: 7.30pm
Sat: 2.30pm and 7.30pm
Sun: 2.00pm and 7.00pm
Review Summary
Average Rating: 3.7 out of 5 stars based on 6 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "Fabulous sets ,superb dancing but overly loud music that jarred.Convoluted plot and one da..."

Reviews Sort by
    Tuesday, 12th Dec 2017 by Margaret

Fabulous sets ,superb dancing but overly loud music that jarred.

Convoluted plot and one dance scene was too long but I am very pleased to have seen this spectacular production as was my son who thoroughly enjoyed it

    Monday, 11th Dec 2017 by s powell

I was disappointed, I think the fact it was set in war time London

did not do it for me, all too grey. Awful music too.

We left after the second interval and noticed others did too.

    Monday, 11th Dec 2017 by sandra

Lovely dancing, shame about the VERY loud recorded music. Several people left after the first act.

    Wednesday, 22nd Dec 2010 by Liz Sinker

Hi have just been to see this with my 9 year old daughter who loved every min of it. I think the plot is very easy to follow, we felt the music reinforced the dramatisation of the blitz (which I am sure was not a quite affair!) 

I would thoroughly recommend it.

    Monday, 6th Dec 2010 by jamie

The ballet was too busy for me. Hated the recorded soundtrack-why can't we have live music?  It was too loud and had an edgy sound detracting from any emotional invovlement with the characters.

Come on matthew-you can afford it!

    Saturday, 4th Dec 2010 by John Lich

Brilliant sets and dancing with fabulous costumes. The downside is the pre-recorded Prokofiev score which is played at much too high a level  trhough the sound system and this detracts from the enjoyment of the show. I noticed the same problem during last year's run of Dorien Gray. Maybe it is time that Sadlers Wells found themselves a sound engineer who knows what he is doing.

The plot is confusing but the technical brilliance of the dancing makes up for this. There is so much going on  on stage that it is quite difficult to take all of it in.

I'm not convinced that this ballet is suitable for young children but there is something for everybody else.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 9 + 5)