Motown the Musical Reviews - Shaftesbury Theatre

Check Availability
Date:
When:
Quantity:
Post Review
Venue Information
Shaftesbury Theatre

Shaftesbury Theatre
210 Shaftesbury Avenue
London
London
WC2H 8DP

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(5mins) Turn right onto New Oxford Street (past the Dominion) for 200 metres, and then turn right onto Shaftesbury Avenue, where the theatre will be on your left 100 metres down.

Show Information
Booking From: Friday, 19th January 2018
Booking Until: Saturday, 5th January 2019
Show Schedule
Mon: 7.30pm
Tue: 7.30pm
Wed: 7.30pm
Thu: 2.30pm and 7.30pm
Fri: 7.30pm
Sat: 2.30pm and 7.30pm
Review Summary
Average Rating: 3.9 out of 5 stars based on 100 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "We were disappointed with the lack of good songs and thought the singers were miming the words at..."

Reviews Sort by
    Tuesday, 2nd Jan 2018 by Christopher Lotopoo

We were disappointed with the lack of good songs and thought the singers were miming the words at times. This show didn’t live up to the hype and recommendations and lacked a story line.

    Thursday, 28th Dec 2017 by Jim Midolo

This musical is Super! I am visiting from The Boston area and this is a MUST SEE show. From beginning to end I was singing along to all of the great Motown songs. Instead of "Dancing in the Streets", I was " Dancing in My Seat". There are some surprises. The entire cast and band were Fantastic!

    Tuesday, 5th Dec 2017 by Sarah lyons

Show was fantastic - theatre staff and atmosphere was horrendous. 16 of us ladies went and were frowned upon for trying to enjoy the music - unless on cue do not sway or smile as you will be told to tone it down by 20% or you will have to leave (exact words). Disgusting to be treated like this at a show that is about music. I have been told that in Cardiff showing (where I live) the people who attended had to take their shoes off as they danced so much their feet hurt!!

    Tuesday, 28th Nov 2017 by Joan Gray

We saw the show llast night and thought it was absolutely fantastic. Loved it from beginning to end and would love to see it again. Definitely makes you want to dance and sing from start to finish. It was my daughter's birthday and Stevie Wonder singing "Happy Birthday" really made her night. Some parts of the show were pretty moving and tearful, but in the nicest way. Audience participation was great and they all appeared to be loving it too. All the actors/singers where amazing. A BIG thank you to all.

    Thursday, 9th Nov 2017 by Anna

Such excellent talent; superb show !!

    Friday, 6th Oct 2017 by chris

Wished I'd saved my money.!

Nothing I'd want to see again,motown was more than Ross whos song were the only ones sung with more than one verse

A few lines of other artists songs was less than entertaining.

    Monday, 25th Sep 2017 by chriss

Enjoyed the show more like the Diana Ross story than Motown story , missed tears of a clown? think the cast were lip-syncing most of the time.

    Saturday, 16th Sep 2017 by Chris Shepherd

We saw the show September 2016 the best show ever we are booking again for march 2018 5 Stars.

    Friday, 15th Sep 2017 by Trevor O

Poor storyline. Show needs to decide whether its A Diana Ross story or a Mowtown story as its indecision leaves audience frustrated. Nice mix of artists though a couple of verses of well-known songs increased the frustration. Audience unable to "get into" a song because of its brevity. Missed a trick here guys as the era was exceptional but the show didn't match it.

    Friday, 25th Aug 2017 by W southall

Totally agree with A Hughes. This could have been a celebration of Motown music and been uplifting but we came out of the theatre disappointed with the story line and reflecting on the missed classics, like Tears of a clown. The best part was the Jackson Five medley. The audience didn't engage much so maybe they were feeling the same as us?

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 4 + 8)