Motown the Musical Reviews - Shaftesbury Theatre

Check Availability
Post Review
Venue Information
Shaftesbury Theatre

Shaftesbury Theatre
210 Shaftesbury Avenue

Seating Plan


(5mins) Turn right onto New Oxford Street (past the Dominion) for 200 metres, and then turn right onto Shaftesbury Avenue, where the theatre will be on your left 100 metres down.

Show Information
Booking From: Tuesday, 20th March 2018
Booking Until: Saturday, 5th January 2019
Show Schedule
Mon: 7.30pm
Tue: 7.30pm
Wed: 7.30pm
Thu: 2.30pm and 7.30pm
Fri: 7.30pm
Sat: 2.30pm and 7.30pm
Review Summary
Average Rating: 3.9 out of 5 stars based on 102 review(s)


Latest Review: "i thought the show was amazing and the choice of songs were great too..."

Reviews Sort by
    Thursday, 15th Mar 2018 by vanessa

i thought the show was amazing and the choice of songs were great too

    Friday, 9th Feb 2018 by David Ruxton

Probably the most disappointing evening I have spent in any theatre anywhere ever. Choice of songs at times bizarre, execution am dram standard,story line very very disjointed and biased towards the Berry Gordy appreciation society. If I thought I could get my money back, I would ask

    Tuesday, 2nd Jan 2018 by Christopher Lotopoo

We were disappointed with the lack of good songs and thought the singers were miming the words at times. This show didn’t live up to the hype and recommendations and lacked a story line.

    Thursday, 28th Dec 2017 by Jim Midolo

This musical is Super! I am visiting from The Boston area and this is a MUST SEE show. From beginning to end I was singing along to all of the great Motown songs. Instead of "Dancing in the Streets", I was " Dancing in My Seat". There are some surprises. The entire cast and band were Fantastic!

    Tuesday, 5th Dec 2017 by Sarah lyons

Show was fantastic - theatre staff and atmosphere was horrendous. 16 of us ladies went and were frowned upon for trying to enjoy the music - unless on cue do not sway or smile as you will be told to tone it down by 20% or you will have to leave (exact words). Disgusting to be treated like this at a show that is about music. I have been told that in Cardiff showing (where I live) the people who attended had to take their shoes off as they danced so much their feet hurt!!

    Tuesday, 28th Nov 2017 by Joan Gray

We saw the show llast night and thought it was absolutely fantastic. Loved it from beginning to end and would love to see it again. Definitely makes you want to dance and sing from start to finish. It was my daughter's birthday and Stevie Wonder singing "Happy Birthday" really made her night. Some parts of the show were pretty moving and tearful, but in the nicest way. Audience participation was great and they all appeared to be loving it too. All the actors/singers where amazing. A BIG thank you to all.

    Thursday, 9th Nov 2017 by Anna

Such excellent talent; superb show !!

    Friday, 6th Oct 2017 by chris

Wished I'd saved my money.!

Nothing I'd want to see again,motown was more than Ross whos song were the only ones sung with more than one verse

A few lines of other artists songs was less than entertaining.

    Monday, 25th Sep 2017 by chriss

Enjoyed the show more like the Diana Ross story than Motown story , missed tears of a clown? think the cast were lip-syncing most of the time.

    Saturday, 16th Sep 2017 by Chris Shepherd

We saw the show September 2016 the best show ever we are booking again for march 2018 5 Stars.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 7 + 7)