Motown the Musical Reviews - Shaftesbury Theatre

Post Review
Featured Video
Venue Information
Shaftesbury Theatre

Shaftesbury Theatre
210 Shaftesbury Avenue
London
London
WC2H 8DP

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(5mins) Turn right onto New Oxford Street (past the Dominion) for 200 metres, and then turn right onto Shaftesbury Avenue, where the theatre will be on your left 100 metres down.

Review Summary
Average Rating: 4 out of 5 stars based on 114 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "I saw the show yesterday and thoroughly enjoyed it. I wanted to join in from the very beginning...."

Reviews Sort by
    Friday, 29th Mar 2019 by Penny

I saw the show yesterday and thoroughly enjoyed it. I wanted to join in from the very beginning. I just want to say that, as I have difficulty walking and use my wheeled helper, the staff at the theatre were very attentive and helpful. They couldn't do enough for me, which made my visit even more enjoyable. Thank you.

    Friday, 15th Mar 2019 by Goldie

Brilliant. Simply a wonderful night out. I recommend it highly

    Friday, 15th Feb 2019 by Keith

The sound has sacrificed quality for quantity. Parts of the show were so loud it became distorted. T

    Monday, 26th Nov 2018 by Monica

I love Motown and always have. This was a birthday gift to myself. Did I enjoy it, yes, I did. Did I think it was great? No. I had read in many reviews that the seats were uncomfortable but they actually weren’t that bad at all. The box office was quick in picking up,tickets and I found myself in the second row of the stalls right up close. Berry Gordy was great as was little Michael Jackson. There was a huge amount of lip synching in some of the numbers, as I was up close I could see that they werent singing. Marvin Gaye stood out but there simply wasn’t enough of him. Many of the same people played different parts and it really looked like the costumes were done on the cheap. Overall I enjoyed it but 8 feel it could have been a lot better.

    Friday, 23rd Nov 2018 by Janice Evans

Saw the show for the first time in October and asked my husband and best friends to return for my birthday treat. A fabulous show with superb singing, dancing and band. I loved the story, at times thought provoking but a joyful and uplifting experience all round.

    Wednesday, 7th Nov 2018 by Tracey & Jean

We absolutely loved it from start to finish. I can't believe some reviewers were disappointed? It was none stop entertainment for our eyes and ears. We danced in our seats all the way through the show. The cast does an amazing job imitating the Motown greats, I was really impressed with their talent. Great night out!

    Saturday, 13th Oct 2018 by Kate Angus

Fun, exuberant, fascinating - we (my two friends and I) loved every minute of this show. The singing and dancing were great and the historical background added a dimension that was thought provoking and informative. We come to London once a year to meet up and see a show. This was one of the best, surpassed only by the Lion King and Singin' in the Rain.

    Saturday, 29th Sep 2018 by Jacqueline

I went with my 25 year old son who treated me. We are both fans of Motown music and we hadthe most abulous evening. I smiled through all the wonderful performances. Would thoroughly recommend.

    Friday, 24th Aug 2018 by Elaine

I was a bit disappointed in the Motown story. Too much story telling and not enough songs. Heavyweights like Stevie Wonder, Smokey Robinson were hardly featured and they were major players for Motown. I seen better Motown shows at my local theatre and a lot of the songs were truncated. It could have been a lot better. It was more or less the Berry Gordy/Diana Ross story.

    Friday, 1st Jun 2018 by Lkc

Really enjoyed this show.

We love Motown anyway but the story of Motown including the racism at the time were recounted well.

Great performances (especially Diana Ross and young Michael Jackson). Fabulous costumes, especially all the evening dresses worn by the supremes. Excellent staging.

Loved it! And would see it again.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 4 + 6)  

Show Information
Booking From: Wednesday, 17th April 2019
Booking Until: Saturday, 20th April 2019
Show Status: production_closed

This site uses cookies. For more information please see our cookies policy. By continuing to use this site you agree to the use of cookies.Got It!