Motown the Musical Reviews - Shaftesbury Theatre

Check Availability
Date:
When:
Quantity:
Post Review
Featured Video
Venue Information
Shaftesbury Theatre

Shaftesbury Theatre
210 Shaftesbury Avenue
London
London
WC2H 8DP

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(5mins) Turn right onto New Oxford Street (past the Dominion) for 200 metres, and then turn right onto Shaftesbury Avenue, where the theatre will be on your left 100 metres down.

Show Information
Booking From: Thursday, 18th October 2018
Booking Until: Saturday, 20th April 2019
Running Time: 2 hours 45 minutes
Show Schedule
Mon: 7.30pm
Tue: 7.30pm
Wed: 7.30pm
Thu: 2.30pm and 7.30pm
Fri: 7.30pm
Sat: 2.30pm and 7.30pm
Review Summary
Average Rating: 3.9 out of 5 stars based on 107 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "I went with my 25 year old son who treated me. We are both fans of Motown music and we hadthe mo..."

Reviews Sort by
    Saturday, 29th Sep 2018 by Jacqueline

I went with my 25 year old son who treated me. We are both fans of Motown music and we hadthe most abulous evening. I smiled through all the wonderful performances. Would thoroughly recommend.

    Friday, 24th Aug 2018 by Elaine

I was a bit disappointed in the Motown story. Too much story telling and not enough songs. Heavyweights like Stevie Wonder, Smokey Robinson were hardly featured and they were major players for Motown. I seen better Motown shows at my local theatre and a lot of the songs were truncated. It could have been a lot better. It was more or less the Berry Gordy/Diana Ross story.

    Friday, 1st Jun 2018 by Lkc

Really enjoyed this show.

We love Motown anyway but the story of Motown including the racism at the time were recounted well.

Great performances (especially Diana Ross and young Michael Jackson). Fabulous costumes, especially all the evening dresses worn by the supremes. Excellent staging.

Loved it! And would see it again.

    Sunday, 15th Apr 2018 by Tonda Saul

It was the best show I ever saw better then Vegas shows. The entire cast was excellent wonderful voices, especially the young boy that sang Michael. The music was sensational Motown at its best. The show truly captured an iconic time in music and history, it had liberal politics but that is what happen which was a part of history. No one of the boomer generation should miss this show! Very well done. I wanted to add I am a white person that enjoyed the true historic part.

    Thursday, 12th Apr 2018 by jhVirginia

I took my wife and family to the show last night and had a great time, We all thought the show was incredible !! I highly recommend.

    Thursday, 15th Mar 2018 by vanessa

i thought the show was amazing and the choice of songs were great too

    Friday, 9th Feb 2018 by David Ruxton

Probably the most disappointing evening I have spent in any theatre anywhere ever. Choice of songs at times bizarre, execution am dram standard,story line very very disjointed and biased towards the Berry Gordy appreciation society. If I thought I could get my money back, I would ask

    Tuesday, 2nd Jan 2018 by Christopher Lotopoo

We were disappointed with the lack of good songs and thought the singers were miming the words at times. This show didn’t live up to the hype and recommendations and lacked a story line.

    Thursday, 28th Dec 2017 by Jim Midolo

This musical is Super! I am visiting from The Boston area and this is a MUST SEE show. From beginning to end I was singing along to all of the great Motown songs. Instead of "Dancing in the Streets", I was " Dancing in My Seat". There are some surprises. The entire cast and band were Fantastic!

    Tuesday, 5th Dec 2017 by Sarah lyons

Show was fantastic - theatre staff and atmosphere was horrendous. 16 of us ladies went and were frowned upon for trying to enjoy the music - unless on cue do not sway or smile as you will be told to tone it down by 20% or you will have to leave (exact words). Disgusting to be treated like this at a show that is about music. I have been told that in Cardiff showing (where I live) the people who attended had to take their shoes off as they danced so much their feet hurt!!

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 3 + 3)  


This site uses cookies. For more information please see our cookies policy. By continuing to use this site you agree to the use of cookies. Got It!