Motown the Musical Reviews - Shaftesbury Theatre

Check Availability
Date:
When:
Quantity:
Post Review
Featured Video
Venue Information
Shaftesbury Theatre

Shaftesbury Theatre
210 Shaftesbury Avenue
London
London
WC2H 8DP

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(5mins) Turn right onto New Oxford Street (past the Dominion) for 200 metres, and then turn right onto Shaftesbury Avenue, where the theatre will be on your left 100 metres down.

Show Information
Booking From: Monday, 18th June 2018
Booking Until: Saturday, 5th January 2019
Show Schedule
Mon: 7.30pm
Tue: 7.30pm
Wed: 7.30pm
Thu: 2.30pm and 7.30pm
Fri: 7.30pm
Sat: 2.30pm and 7.30pm
Review Summary
Average Rating: 3.9 out of 5 stars based on 105 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "Really enjoyed this show.We love Motown anyway but the story of Motown including the racis..."

Reviews Sort by
    Friday, 1st Jun 2018 by Lkc

Really enjoyed this show.

We love Motown anyway but the story of Motown including the racism at the time were recounted well.

Great performances (especially Diana Ross and young Michael Jackson). Fabulous costumes, especially all the evening dresses worn by the supremes. Excellent staging.

Loved it! And would see it again.

    Sunday, 15th Apr 2018 by Tonda Saul

It was the best show I ever saw better then Vegas shows. The entire cast was excellent wonderful voices, especially the young boy that sang Michael. The music was sensational Motown at its best. The show truly captured an iconic time in music and history, it had liberal politics but that is what happen which was a part of history. No one of the boomer generation should miss this show! Very well done. I wanted to add I am a white person that enjoyed the true historic part.

    Thursday, 12th Apr 2018 by jhVirginia

I took my wife and family to the show last night and had a great time, We all thought the show was incredible !! I highly recommend.

    Thursday, 15th Mar 2018 by vanessa

i thought the show was amazing and the choice of songs were great too

    Friday, 9th Feb 2018 by David Ruxton

Probably the most disappointing evening I have spent in any theatre anywhere ever. Choice of songs at times bizarre, execution am dram standard,story line very very disjointed and biased towards the Berry Gordy appreciation society. If I thought I could get my money back, I would ask

    Tuesday, 2nd Jan 2018 by Christopher Lotopoo

We were disappointed with the lack of good songs and thought the singers were miming the words at times. This show didn’t live up to the hype and recommendations and lacked a story line.

    Thursday, 28th Dec 2017 by Jim Midolo

This musical is Super! I am visiting from The Boston area and this is a MUST SEE show. From beginning to end I was singing along to all of the great Motown songs. Instead of "Dancing in the Streets", I was " Dancing in My Seat". There are some surprises. The entire cast and band were Fantastic!

    Tuesday, 5th Dec 2017 by Sarah lyons

Show was fantastic - theatre staff and atmosphere was horrendous. 16 of us ladies went and were frowned upon for trying to enjoy the music - unless on cue do not sway or smile as you will be told to tone it down by 20% or you will have to leave (exact words). Disgusting to be treated like this at a show that is about music. I have been told that in Cardiff showing (where I live) the people who attended had to take their shoes off as they danced so much their feet hurt!!

    Tuesday, 28th Nov 2017 by Joan Gray

We saw the show llast night and thought it was absolutely fantastic. Loved it from beginning to end and would love to see it again. Definitely makes you want to dance and sing from start to finish. It was my daughter's birthday and Stevie Wonder singing "Happy Birthday" really made her night. Some parts of the show were pretty moving and tearful, but in the nicest way. Audience participation was great and they all appeared to be loving it too. All the actors/singers where amazing. A BIG thank you to all.

    Thursday, 9th Nov 2017 by Anna

Such excellent talent; superb show !!

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 4 + 9)  


This site uses cookies. For more information please see our cookies policy. By continuing to use this site you agree to the use of cookies. Got It!