Motown the Musical Reviews - Shaftesbury Theatre

Check Availability
Date:
When:
Quantity:
Post Review
Venue Information
Shaftesbury Theatre

Shaftesbury Theatre
210 Shaftesbury Avenue
London
London
WC2H 8DP

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(5mins) Turn right onto New Oxford Street (past the Dominion) for 200 metres, and then turn right onto Shaftesbury Avenue, where the theatre will be on your left 100 metres down.

Show Information
Booking From: Friday, 17th November 2017
Booking Until: Saturday, 5th January 2019
Running Time: 2 hours 30 minutes
Show Schedule
Mon: 7.30pm
Tue: 7.30pm
Wed: 7.30pm
Thu: 2.30pm and 7.30pm
Fri: 7.30pm
Sat: 2.30pm and 7.30pm
Review Summary
Average Rating: 3.9 out of 5 stars based on 96 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "Such excellent talent; superb show !!..."

Reviews Sort by
    Wednesday, 19th Jul 2017 by Daniela Kustec

Hi guys and all who are in the crew,

You have been amazing!!!!

Felt a bit sorry for the stiff audience.

Keep going even though they are not so lively.

You are great!!

Keep the spirit alive!!

    Sunday, 16th Jul 2017 by jimbo

First class from start to finish coreography excellent leading male and female artists spot on to play leading roles what cracking singers thoroughly enjoyed start to finish

    Saturday, 24th Jun 2017 by Sharon

Wow, what an amazing show , enjoyed every single element from Berry Gorey's story of how he founded Mowtown to the fabulous music and performances of all the artists especially Diana Ross who I had seen live many years ago in Dublin . The actress captured everything which I loved about Diana, her music, singing , character and the glamour of an icon. Don't miss this show would definitely recommend 10*+

    Sunday, 11th Jun 2017 by a. hughes

Very disappointed. 1st half was good with great songs from well known motown acts i.e.4 tops, temptations, Supremes etc. Brought back good memories from my youth. 2nd half just got flatter and flatter. Like a bottle of cheap champagne! Some quite obscure songs played and really surprised Smokey Robinson biggest hit, Tears of a Clown, was not even mentioned. Too many half songs sung also. Didn't make me want to get up and dance and sing,unlike jersey boys and dirty dancing. would probably have been ejected from the theatre if I had!! Certainly wouldn't recommend it.

    Thursday, 1st Jun 2017 by Elizabeth Bridgehouse

Went to see Motown the Musical last night at Shaftesbury theatre and it was everything I expected and more . What a wonder night, I am massive Motown fan and this musical was magic.The portrayals of the musicians ,their voices were truly brilliant. Berry Gordy was amazing and the young Michael Jackson outstanding.I would recommend this show to any Motown fan.

    Sunday, 21st May 2017 by Mowtown generation

The first half magnificent, the songs and dance routines fabulous and Gordies story great

Second half it becomes about the Diana Ross Story!

We found the second part all about Diana Ross, Michael Jackson, who left Mowtown early in careers, just because they became more famous later in life, did not make them the true Mowtown sound..we grew up with Mowtown so we know. There were some fantastic groups, duos and singers about who were not included.

Not taking away from the cast who were brilliant.

    Monday, 1st May 2017 by Stephanie

Like previous reviews, very disappointed! 6 of us went on Saturday and all Mowtown fans. Very poor story line, too much talking and not enough singing, or songs sung were cut very short.

I definitely would not recommend this, I have seen far better Mowtown shows elsewhere.

    Monday, 1st May 2017 by Linda

Wasn't disappointed enjoyed every part of it. Would like to thank the floor staff too who found us alternative seats so my husband could sit comfortably as he has just had knee surgery. The cast worked so hard, bravo.

    Sunday, 23rd Apr 2017 by T.Donoghue

One of the best shows we've seen, marvelous, superb, great cast, singing,dancing, and sometimes emotional. Absolutely loved it.

    Sunday, 23rd Apr 2017 by Sue

My husband and I are big Motown fans. There are so many songs and groups that in the time they couldn't possibly sing the songs all the way through and been able to have all the groups represented.

Unfortunately the struggles of the day were very real and had to be told as it was part of the black music /artist struggle at the time and offensive words like nigger used repeatedly

We loved every minute and it was a wonderful trip down memory lane

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 5 + 7)