Motown the Musical Reviews - Shaftesbury Theatre

Check Availability
Date:
When:
Quantity:
Post Review
Venue Information
Shaftesbury Theatre

Shaftesbury Theatre
210 Shaftesbury Avenue
London
London
WC2H 8DP

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(5mins) Turn right onto New Oxford Street (past the Dominion) for 200 metres, and then turn right onto Shaftesbury Avenue, where the theatre will be on your left 100 metres down.

Show Information
Booking From: Wednesday, 21st February 2018
Booking Until: Saturday, 5th January 2019
Show Schedule
Mon: 7.30pm
Tue: 7.30pm
Wed: 7.30pm
Thu: 2.30pm and 7.30pm
Fri: 7.30pm
Sat: 2.30pm and 7.30pm
Review Summary
Average Rating: 3.9 out of 5 stars based on 101 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "Probably the most disappointing evening I have spent in any theatre anywhere ever. Choice of song..."

Reviews Sort by
    Sunday, 21st May 2017 by Mowtown generation

The first half magnificent, the songs and dance routines fabulous and Gordies story great

Second half it becomes about the Diana Ross Story!

We found the second part all about Diana Ross, Michael Jackson, who left Mowtown early in careers, just because they became more famous later in life, did not make them the true Mowtown sound..we grew up with Mowtown so we know. There were some fantastic groups, duos and singers about who were not included.

Not taking away from the cast who were brilliant.

    Monday, 1st May 2017 by Stephanie

Like previous reviews, very disappointed! 6 of us went on Saturday and all Mowtown fans. Very poor story line, too much talking and not enough singing, or songs sung were cut very short.

I definitely would not recommend this, I have seen far better Mowtown shows elsewhere.

    Monday, 1st May 2017 by Linda

Wasn't disappointed enjoyed every part of it. Would like to thank the floor staff too who found us alternative seats so my husband could sit comfortably as he has just had knee surgery. The cast worked so hard, bravo.

    Sunday, 23rd Apr 2017 by T.Donoghue

One of the best shows we've seen, marvelous, superb, great cast, singing,dancing, and sometimes emotional. Absolutely loved it.

    Sunday, 23rd Apr 2017 by Sue

My husband and I are big Motown fans. There are so many songs and groups that in the time they couldn't possibly sing the songs all the way through and been able to have all the groups represented.

Unfortunately the struggles of the day were very real and had to be told as it was part of the black music /artist struggle at the time and offensive words like nigger used repeatedly

We loved every minute and it was a wonderful trip down memory lane

    Sunday, 23rd Apr 2017 by Richard Dandy

Went with very high expectations but ended up deflated. Slow first half, second somewhat better but it had to be, Singing didn't sound anywhere near the real thing unlike Jersey Boys which, did and was exceptional by comparison. Many Motown classics not mentioned. Plus points.....Michael Jackson, star of the show and shame there wasn't more of him and the Temptations doing 'My Girl'. Hate penning such a negative review especially as so looking forward to it but can't hide the truth! One last thing .....saw nobody dancing which, probably sums it up and many around us were looking forward to it.

    Friday, 31st Mar 2017 by mum and daughter

This was a birthday present and I was delighted with the show.

I was expecting the performance to be a history of the development of Motown rather than a "musical" where many of the hits are just replayed. (Others seemed unprepared for this)

I love the music, knew a bit about the history but this show brought it all to life.

Some excellent singing and fantastic costumes

    Friday, 3rd Mar 2017 by Trevor

We went to see the show for my wife's birthday, was very Dissapointed, only a few lines of most songs, only one or two sung all the way through, lots of racist comments, very anti white, over £100 for two tickets was a complete waste of money in all very dissapointed. Actor were good.

    Saturday, 25th Feb 2017 by K Griffiths

A very disappointing show, no story line, female voices very poor and quite shouty, male lead very good but overall a very lack lustre performance. After seeing many excellent west end musicals this was not the normal high standard we are used to seeing.

    Thursday, 16th Feb 2017 by Anna

Went to see the show 15th February 2017. Was very disappointed. I see others have complained about the theatre but that is always a part of the ambience and have no complaints there. The show was very mediocre and thought it a shame that some of the songs were only played for one or two lines. Found the story line tedious and most of the singers not up to singing motown which I love. Loved Berry Gordy's voice and Marvin Gaye's voice too. Would probably go as far as to say that this was one of the worst musicals I have ever seen and my husband and I have seen many West End musicals. Such a shame because Motown has such iconic stars and my opinion is if you cannot get the actors to portray the singing well enough then don't put the show on.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 1 + 5)