The Lion King Reviews - Lyceum Theatre

Check Availability
Date:
When:
Quantity:
Post Review
Featured Video
Venue Information
Lyceum Theatre

Lyceum Theatre
21 Wellington Street
London
London
WC2E 7RQ

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(5mins) Go right on Long Acre; turn right into Bow Street/Wellington Street and follow the road 200 metres. The theatre is on your right.

Show Information
Booking From: Friday, 17th November 2017
Booking Until: Sunday, 29th April 2018
Running Time: 2 hours 30 minutes
Age Restriction: The Lion King is recommended for ages 6 and up. Children under the age of 3 will not be admitted into the theatre. All persons aged 16 or under must be accompanied by an adult and may not sit on their own within the auditorium. All persons entering the theatre, regardless of age, must have a ticket.
Important Info: PLEASE NOTE: strobe lighting is used several times during the performance. 
Show Schedule
Tue: 7.30pm
Wed: 2.30pm and 7.30pm
Thu: 7.30pm
Fri: 7.30pm
Sat: 2.30pm and 7.30pm
Sun: 2.30pm
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.7 out of 5 stars based on 105 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "one of the best shows in town!!..."

Reviews Sort by
    Friday, 29th Aug 2014 by Dave

Let me start by saying I really like Disney. But for me this show just didn't do it. There wasn't any really stand out vocalists, the kids were trying hard but disappointing and even the big numbers felt rather tedious. Add to that a very noisy auditorium, an over priced ticket and one very very bored audience member. First time I have ever wanted to leave a west end show before the end and was so glad when the final curtain come down. There are so many better shows to see. Choose a different one than this

    Tuesday, 26th Aug 2014 by caroline

Went to see it on Saturday 23rd July 2014 and it was absolutely FANTASTIC from start to finish. I have always wanted to see the stage show and I wasn't disappointed one bit. I was amazed by the costumes, singing and the scenery of the show. It was well worth the money and I would go and see it again and again.

    Sunday, 27th Jul 2014 by susan

Took my 14yr old granddaughter to see the show when she was 4. am taking her brother next week & shes insisting on coming to see it again with us.this is just an outstanding show worth every penny.love it

    Thursday, 3rd Jul 2014 by Carrie

Went to this show exactly one year ago and was disappointed. The young boy who played Simba could neither sing nor dance and with the exception of Mufassah, the other actors were mediocre. I sat next to an older couple who had traveled several hours just to see the show and I felt sorry for them that their time and money was wasted and I'm not kidding.The opening scene of the animals walking through the audience was the only impressive part but it went south from there. It seemed like a training ground for actors-in-training to practice their craft. Don't believe me, see for yourself.

    Wednesday, 25th Jun 2014 by Lyndsay banks

This was the best show I have ever seen it was absolutely mesmerising, the hairs on my neck stood on end with the beautiful vocals, especially the young simba. Utterly brilliant. A must see xx

    Tuesday, 17th Jun 2014 by Sharon

This wasn't really my thing although I also took my daughter for her 21st birthday and she loved it. The young stars were good at the acting but couldn't sing very well. The costumes were ok.

Top marks to the theatre though. I have difficultly walking and they arranged the lift up and down for me as we had booked tickets in the top circle. Also someone was trying to take photos and they were warned twice about it. Just wished the show have lived up to the rest of the experience. Also we went on quite a warm day, and it was unbearable hot in the theatre.

    Sunday, 1st Jun 2014 by Lin Avery

Absolutely a fantastic show. This is the fourth time I have seen it and would go back again and again.

    Thursday, 29th May 2014 by Gary Pettit

Every time the West End is mentioned my Wife drools about her favourite show, "The Lion King". Having seen it in London and New York she still maintains it is the best show ever and we have been to many performances over the years.

It is our 29th wedding anniversary on Sunday 1 June and I simply could not think of a better surprise for Paula than to take her back and watch the best show around

    Saturday, 19th Apr 2014 by Thomas Benton

What an absolutely amazing show. I've been a massive fan of the Lion King films and this Toped the list of all time favourite theatre shows. The show does include actors, that use the Boxes in the air to make the show feel more alive. This does restrict viewing when you are sat right at the back on or under the royal stands. The songs are fantastic as always and the actors were superb! All the music was magnificent, all live of course.

10/10 would see again!

    Saturday, 12th Apr 2014 by Griffiths

Saw the show on 30/3/2014 with my family for my 50th. Music, cast, costumes fantastic. We'll done to everyone involved. I would probably go to an evening show next time as we had an annoying fidgeting little kid bumping the backs of our chairs. Could I also point out that given the price we paid (£65 each with no reduction for 12&15 yr old) I didn't expect to see massive tubs of popcorn everywhere. We had gone to the theatre not Showcase Cinema, rubbish left everywhere by ignorant people who can't do without stuffing their faces for a couple of hours. Come on Lyceum ditch the popcorn and return to a theatre experience.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 8 + 7)