The Lion King Reviews - Lyceum Theatre

Check Availability
Date:
When:
Quantity:
Post Review
Featured Video
Venue Information
Lyceum Theatre

Lyceum Theatre
21 Wellington Street
London
London
WC2E 7RQ

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(5mins) Go right on Long Acre; turn right into Bow Street/Wellington Street and follow the road 200 metres. The theatre is on your right.

Show Information
Booking From: Tuesday, 12th December 2017
Booking Until: Saturday, 2nd June 2018
Running Time: 2 hours 30 minutes
Age Restriction: The Lion King is recommended for ages 6 and up. Children under the age of 3 will not be admitted into the theatre. All persons aged 16 or under must be accompanied by an adult and may not sit on their own within the auditorium. All persons entering the theatre, regardless of age, must have a ticket.
Important Info: PLEASE NOTE: strobe lighting is used several times during the performance. 
Show Schedule
Tue: 7.30pm
Wed: 2.30pm and 7.30pm
Thu: 7.30pm
Fri: 7.30pm
Sat: 2.30pm and 7.30pm
Sun: 2.30pm
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.7 out of 5 stars based on 105 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "one of the best shows in town!!..."

Reviews Sort by
    Thursday, 10th Jan 2013 by J Morris

We saw the matinee over the weekend - the childern were mesmerised. We had a wonderful time - thank you for making our trip to London something to remember.

    Monday, 7th Jan 2013 by Ash

I saw the Lion King at Lyceum Theatre on Saturday 29 December 2012 to help bring in the New Year. I had never before seen the show but had heard that it was well worth seeing. I bought tickets for more than £100 and so excited to see the show.

The staging was fantastic and I thought that the show was great. That was until Simba in the first act sang. Timings were out and he was not on pitch. I am not very musical and could tell that something was off. I thought that things would get better but they didn't. At first I thought that it may be a mic issue but as the show progress the issue was not address. How glad I was at the end of the first half when Simba was grown up and someone that could sing took over the role.

The second half started well much like the first. Although by the end Pumba look half dead and like he didn't want to be on stage and looked more like he wanted to be at home watching TV with a beer in his hand.

In all the staging was great but the singing and the performances were a let down. After being asked if I enjoyed the Lion Kind by Friends. I have had to tell them that they should spend their money elsewhere. I understand that the show if played twice a day and almost everyday but for a Saturday night showing after Christmas and before the New Year. I would expect all cast members to give their all and not just a factory produced, off the line repeated performance that they have done a hundred times.

In all very disappoint. I wish I could say otherwise.

    Friday, 16th Nov 2012 by Maureen

Best show I've seen. I could watch it over and over. I would definitely recommend it.

    Thursday, 15th Nov 2012 by Petros

The show on the 14th was wonderful, first time to this show will want to return.Many thanks to all very memorable.

    Wednesday, 31st Oct 2012 by cjkfish

Amazing .......... One of the best shows I have ever seen.

I was a little unsure at first thinking I was going to see a childrens show, but it captivated me from the opening scene.

Stunning colours, familiar music, wonderful performers and outstanding props. Definately a must see!

    Friday, 26th Oct 2012 by Holly

I am 11 and I went. I thought I wouldn't like it if I'm honest but it was a truley magical performance worth all the money. Loved every bit! The costumes were just too great.

    Friday, 26th Oct 2012 by Marissa Lemos

what a amazing show great dancing great singing and great costumes too and just a fun night out and i enjoyed it thoroughly.

    Sunday, 14th Oct 2012 by Gary

Went to see the show with my wife and niece and we enjoyed the show so much, everything was first class from the costumes,singing/dancing and even the lighting all made this a tremendous experience

    Tuesday, 2nd Oct 2012 by Sarah collins

Fantastic show, amazing costumes, wonderful singing and incredible dancing. An all out winner

    Sunday, 30th Sep 2012 by D C Jones

My first time at a theatre, money well spent, production unable to fault, very enjoyable evening.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 5 + 3)