Thriller Live Reviews - Lyric Theatre

Check Availability
Date:
When:
Quantity:
Post Review
Featured Video
Venue Information
Lyric Theatre

Lyric Theatre
29 Shaftesbury Avenue
London
London
W1D 7ES

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(3mins) Take Shaftesbury Avenue along the side where the famous illuminated signs are. The theatre will be on your left about 100 metres along.

Show Information
Booking From: Wednesday, 31st October 2018
Booking Until: Sunday, 29th September 2019
Age Restriction: Suitable for ages 8 and over.
Important Info: Contains constant use of flashing LED screen and some strobe lighting.
Show Schedule
Tue: 7.30pm
Wed: 7.30pm
Thu: 7.30pm
Fri: 7.30pm
Sat: 4pm and 8pm
Sun: 3.30pm and 7.30pm
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.1 out of 5 stars based on 126 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "Saw the show on Saturday 24th November. Sorry to say was very disappointed. Went with my son and ..."

Reviews Sort by
    Monday, 26th Nov 2018 by Ives

Saw the show on Saturday 24th November. Sorry to say was very disappointed. Went with my son and daughter as a special treat for my 60th. They did not enjoy either - unfortunately waste of money - paid £87 each for ticket. Sorry

    Thursday, 22nd Nov 2018 by Lucas Jonsen

Not too sure about this one.. I hate to give a bad review but I have to in this case i'm afraid. Much of the dancing was 3rd rate, I'd expect a West End Production to have the highest quality in dance but the primary cast were very lacklustre. The signature MJ Kicks and Flicks were weak and undefined and the dance routines were waaaay too lazily executed. The best it has going for it are the voices, most of the lead singers were truly impressive. ONE WORD OF ADVICE to the lead cast (if they ever read these reviews that is..), remember that you are paying homage to person of god-like status with fans that worship and adore every last scream, ad-lib and lyric.. please master where MJ inserts these in his music and try to match him point for point or else it'll feel quite unsatisfying to most fans.

Besides all this, its a relatively 'okay' show.

    Friday, 19th Oct 2018 by Shaz

Saw this show last night, i didn't have the best seats but you get what you pay for. I must say if i had paid more for a better seat i might have been even more disappointed.

One of the lead singers was a woman and her energy was dead compared to the other performers maybe she was tired or had an off day either way it felt like she should just not had bothered because i became more infuriated with her lack of performance.

A lot of songs was mimed you could easily tell but those that weren't the singers were really good even the dead weight woman had a good voice.

    Wednesday, 17th Oct 2018 by Relle

My daughters high school dance eisteddfods were better than this. There was a couple of good moments but overall it was very 3rd rate. So disappointed! If you have seen Michael Jackson live in your lifetime don't go... To give the stars credit they did have great voices thats of course if they weren't miming. The guy who danced like Michael Jackson was very good, but a bit too much repetition. It was my last day in London and my expectation of a west end theatre was obviously way too high. Thank goodness I only paid 30 pound for a seat last minute.

    Thursday, 4th Oct 2018 by Stuart maitland-smith

WOW , just seen Thriller. Omg absolutely a great show. The cast are a total credit to the entertainment scene. Thanks to all involved.

    Tuesday, 25th Sep 2018 by Jeanette Rouse

Was not what we expected ... all music ....no story and lots of lip sync.... I felt a little sorry for the performers as they didn't have a story line ...have been to many live shows , some not great ,but many fabulous.... Jeanette

    Thursday, 19th Jul 2018 by dawn wood

This show is amazing i have seen it 5 times

    Friday, 8th Jun 2018 by Dave Egg

I went to see Thriller at The Lyric seated in row BB in the middle. Hence I was very close to the stage. When the show started with the opening songs and frantic dancing I thought Wow these are very good singers....A few songs later I thought Mmmm almost too good.... Then I thought I feel there is something wrong here...then BAM it hit me: For most of the songs the singers are merely miming or what is otherwise known as lip syncing to per-recorded songs and music. Not every song, a few slow numbers I think were live but the bulk of the songs are miming. By the interval my shock had turn to anger as I paid for 2 tickets at around £100 each. For this money I expect live singers. I left at the interval feeling mighty ripped-off.

    Sunday, 29th Apr 2018 by AJ

An energetic and engaged cast delivered a strong performance of the classic MJ hits through the ages - constantly delivering a good performance, the only area for improvement would have to be the young MJ who look nervous and internally focused, and the costumes that clearly just need a good "wash and press". This would ensure that the emphasis of the performance is not distracted through the lack sequins etiquette. Call out to the 4 lead singers who really did give it there all - a good Sunday afternoon for everyone - well done

    Tuesday, 10th Apr 2018 by Rita

I was Extremely disappointed with this show, and my partner, who's a big fan, said this killed his Michael Jackson memories.

The show had been seen a couple years ago by our sister in law who said was great and the singer really looked, sounded and acted like Michael, but last time we went (8th april 2018) it was performed by 3 men and a woman with some dancers on the background. Nothing of what my sister in law had seen before, nothing of what we saw advertised and nothing of what we expected. It was like watching a Karaoke night.

The only good part was Smooth Criminal. I do not recommend this show, it was a waste of money and time.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 6 + 1)  


This site uses cookies. For more information please see our cookies policy. By continuing to use this site you agree to the use of cookies. Got It!