West End Musicals

Thriller Live Reviews - Lyric Theatre

Post Review
Featured Video
Venue Information
Lyric Theatre

Lyric Theatre
29 Shaftesbury Avenue
London
W1D 7ES

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(3mins) Take Shaftesbury Avenue along the side where the famous illuminated signs are. The theatre will be on your left about 100 metres along.

Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.2 out of 5 stars based on 123 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "Fabulous speechless must show peter Andre was extra icing on the cake couldn’t get over his performa..."

Reviews Sort by
    Sunday, 15th Mar 2020 by Hayleya1983

Absolutely brilliant from start to finish... Michal Jackson would be proud.

    Sunday, 23rd Feb 2020 by Patrick

Reading other reviews Thriller the musical appears a bit like Marmite, some people love it others didn’t . For me this all boils down to expectations and what the viewer is hoping to get from the show. If you want a Michael Jackson life story unfolding in front of you with a single soul lookalike who can sing like him and dance like him for two and a bit hours surrounded by theatricals and performing his ageless back catalogue, you will not get what you want here. However if you want a number of artists sharing the MJ greatest hits including a very cute lad playing junior MJ the early days and well sung classics with what I thought were great dance troup seemingly having a grand old time on stage , it was immensely enjoyable , fun and entertaining. It’s not the type of show I would go to expecting deep and meaningful thespian excellence, its there for you to tap your foot, nod your head and be reminded that Michael and Quincy Jones made the most incredible music together. So in that basis “I Loved it!”

    Monday, 16th Dec 2019 by Cazzy

Fabulous speechless must show peter Andre was extra icing on the cake couldn’t get over his performance the cast are outstanding what a show

    Tuesday, 28th May 2019 by mjlover88

I wondered how they were gonna pull off the lean but they did it an it was amazing!!!

    Thursday, 4th Oct 2018 by Stuart maitland-smith

WOW , just seen Thriller. Omg absolutely a great show. The cast are a total credit to the entertainment scene. Thanks to all involved.

    Thursday, 19th Jul 2018 by dawn wood

This show is amazing i have seen it 5 times

    Friday, 8th Jun 2018 by Dave Egg

I went to see Thriller at The Lyric seated in row BB in the middle. Hence I was very close to the stage. When the show started with the opening songs and frantic dancing I thought Wow these are very good singers....A few songs later I thought Mmmm almost too good.... Then I thought I feel there is something wrong here...then BAM it hit me: For most of the songs the singers are merely miming or what is otherwise known as lip syncing to per-recorded songs and music. Not every song, a few slow numbers I think were live but the bulk of the songs are miming. By the interval my shock had turn to anger as I paid for 2 tickets at around £100 each. For this money I expect live singers. I left at the interval feeling mighty ripped-off.

    Sunday, 29th Apr 2018 by AJ

An energetic and engaged cast delivered a strong performance of the classic MJ hits through the ages - constantly delivering a good performance, the only area for improvement would have to be the young MJ who look nervous and internally focused, and the costumes that clearly just need a good "wash and press". This would ensure that the emphasis of the performance is not distracted through the lack sequins etiquette. Call out to the 4 lead singers who really did give it there all - a good Sunday afternoon for everyone - well done

    Tuesday, 10th Apr 2018 by Rita

I was Extremely disappointed with this show, and my partner, who's a big fan, said this killed his Michael Jackson memories.

The show had been seen a couple years ago by our sister in law who said was great and the singer really looked, sounded and acted like Michael, but last time we went (8th april 2018) it was performed by 3 men and a woman with some dancers on the background. Nothing of what my sister in law had seen before, nothing of what we saw advertised and nothing of what we expected. It was like watching a Karaoke night.

The only good part was Smooth Criminal. I do not recommend this show, it was a waste of money and time.

    Sunday, 12th Nov 2017 by Paul

50/50 for the show . some parts good but some very poor only 1 singer actually looked like e MJ , since when was MJ a woman !! worst theatre for veiw of stage , rude staff telling us to sit down when no one behind us !! would not recomend .

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Score:

Your Review

Show Information
Booking From: Wednesday, 15th January 2020
Booking Until: Sunday, 26th April 2020
Running Time: 2 hours 20 minutes
Age Restriction: Suitable for ages 8 and over.
Important Info: Contains constant use of flashing LED screen and some strobe lighting.