The Woman in Black Reviews - Fortune Theatre

Check Availability
Date:
When:
Quantity:
Post Review
Featured Video
Venue Information
Fortune Theatre

Fortune Theatre
Russell Street
London
London
WC2B 5HH

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(5mins) Go right on Long Acre; turn right into Bow Street and after 100 metres go left on Russell Street, from where the theatre logo can be seen.

Show Information
Booking From: Wednesday, 22nd November 2017
Booking Until: Saturday, 26th January 2019
Age Restriction: The Woman in Black is on the National Curriculum for English and Drama, so some performances (especially matinees and on weekdays) are likely to have school groups in attendance.
Important Info: This play is not suitable for those with a nervous disposition or who cannot handle sudden shocks. Please be advised that there is a large possibility of school groups being present at The Woman In Black, especially for Monday to Thursday performances.
Show Schedule
Tue: 3pm and 8pm
Wed: 8pm
Thu: 3pm and 8pm
Fri: 8pm
Sat: 4pm and 8pm
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4 out of 5 stars based on 55 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "Saw this production with a friend on 21.9.17......... Absolutely fabulous ! Anyone who critiques ..."

Reviews Sort by
    Wednesday, 20th May 2015 by Geraldine Armstrong

Outstanding performance. Both actors held the stage and had the audience in suspence right through to the twist at the end. How they learned all those lines is indeed an art. Friendly, helpful staff and such a lovely old theatre which added to the ambience of the play. Well done.

    Monday, 18th May 2015 by mick randall

very,very clever, brilliant acting, and I can say with honesty she scared me s**tless

    Saturday, 11th Apr 2015 by Miguel

The film is much better than this. I have no idea what people are talking about when they say it was "scary" or "chilling"? Have they ever seen a horror movie before in their lives?... Most of the play is just the two actors talking and talking and talking to each other, the stage set is very outdated and static and while the actors are good their performances were nothing to write home about either.

    Wednesday, 18th Feb 2015 by Helen

An amazing performance accompanied by fantastic customer service. Due to the fact that there was a large school group in the dress circle where we had tickets, we were offered the opportunity to move into the stalls as they had spare capacity. An excellent decision by the management as it meant our enjoyment of the performance was greatly increased.

    Tuesday, 30th Dec 2014 by Jacqui

Very disappointing. I have never seen the film, though my teenagers who accompanied me have, so I was not comparing it. Decent acting but dull otherwise. So much more could have been done to create atmosphere, suspense and emotion. My 17 year old says her school should perform it because they would do a better job. I expected more from a West End production, not worth the £42 we paid for a ticket. Money for old rope.

    Friday, 25th Jul 2014 by Peter

Not such a review of the play, which we enjoyed although we found the graveyard scene as from the circle roe E 4+5 you cannot see the grave BUT I want to give a huge thank you to the staff. I am disabled and use a stick. The staff did everything that they could to make me comfortable with small acts of kindness such as allowing me use of the toilet on the same level instead of having to make a trip up about 3 flights of stairs (I hope she doesn't get in trouble for that), to carrying my beer up from the bar to my seat. A big thank you. Things like this are not usually found in this day and age but nothing was too much trouble from the box office to leaving. The staff know who they are and I hope whoever reads this at the Fortune will pass on my gratitude.

    Monday, 12th May 2014 by s.p

Booked last minute on a whim for my daughter and I.

Then read reviews and realised it was a 2 hander so did not know what to expect and how they were gonna pull it off, only having seen the big blockbuster film version

Well.............. BRILLIANT !!!!!!!!!!

What more can I say without spoiling it.

Go with an open mind , enjoy the quaint Theatre, friendly staff

and applaude the great Acting.

    Wednesday, 23rd Apr 2014 by Lisa

My hubby & I went yesterday for our anniversary. I was a bit unsure as another website had given unfavorable reviews. I was gripped from the start and even forgot to breath on a couple of occasions. The 2 actors were amazing & delivered a slick, outstanding performance. I actually felt I was on the stage with them. Truly fine acting and I will definitely be going back. The negative reviews I read must have been written by watchers of roller skating cats or sing wicked witches. If you want that, then this won't be for you but if you want fine intelligent culture you be so pleased you went. I jumped out my seat- !!!

    Monday, 17th Mar 2014 by melanie

i thought this play was an amazing show, not only did it entertain me but i was also surprised as to how scary they made the play. i did think that the play wouldn't be as scary as i didn't quite understand how they would be able to make a ghost story scary in reality. Truth is the sound effects and the other effects they used were very effective and helpful. i would highly recommend this and for anyone who says this show was boring needs to start appreciating simple shows that are effective.

    Monday, 6th Jan 2014 by Kate

I did not enjoy it at all. The cheap set I thought was awful.

I did not like the fact that there were only two characters on stage and to me it was just boring. The screams were hideous.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 8 + 7)