Jump To Show
All Shows Choose a show from the list below

Bahrain Grand Prix Cancelled

Wednesday, 23rd Feb 2011

Anti-Government Protests in the Gulf force the Cancellation of the Formula One Race Meeting

Formula One fans across the world are eagerly anticipating the start of the 2011 season, coming hot on the heels of the 2010 season, which was eventually won by Sebastian Vettel. However, the decision has been made to cancel the opening event of the season, which should have taken place at in Bahrain – currently the location of ongoing protests against the government.

The protests follow up the recent uprisings in Egypt and Tunisia, which have seen their heads of state overthrown in both cases. Uprisings have also appeared in Algeria, Jordan, Iran, Libya, Morocco and Yemen.

So those wishing to pick up sports tickets to witness the beginning of the F1 Season will have to wait until the end of March instead. Had the season begun in Bahrain, where a Formula One Race has been held annually since 2004, the 2011 season would have started on Sunday 13th March 2011, with the new start-date taking the form of the Australian Grand Prix on Sunday 27th March 2011.

The 2010 Formula One Season saw Sebastian Vettel beat out reigning champion Jenson Button, plus other racers such as Lewis Hamilon, to be crowned the Formula One World Champion. The season was an exciting one and by the time the deciding race came along, which often features two racers attempting to come out on top, there were four racers in contention; alongside Vettel were Mark Webber, Fernando Alonso and Lewis Hamilton. Alonso would eventually place second, with Mark Webber finishing the championship in third place.

Vettel will be defending his title whilst remaining with the same Red Bull team that took him to victory last year. It contrasts with the start of the 2010 season when then-reigning champion Jenson Button changed to McLaren alongside fellow-Brit Lewis Hamilton.

With the Australian Gran Prix opening the 2011 season on Sunday 27th March 2011, the season will continue throughout the year, with the British Grand Prix taking place on Sunday 10th July 2011, until the final race, the Brazilian Grand Prix, which appears on the calendar on Sunday 27th November 2011.

Article filed under: Sports News | Formula 1 |